Foundation Stage

In the Early Years Foundation Stage we look at three Prime areas and four Specific areas of learning and development.

Prime Areas

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Making relationships
  • Self-Confidence and self-awareness
  • Managing feelings and behaviour

Physical Development

  • Moving and handling
  • Health and self-care

Communication and Language

  • Listening and attention
  • Understanding
  • Speaking

Specific Areas


  • Reading
  • Writing


  • Numbers
  • Shape, space and measure

Understanding the World

  • People and communities
  • The world
  • Technology

Expressive Arts and Design

  • Exploring and using media and materials
  • Being imaginative



Click here for further information.


File icon: pdf F.S. MTP Autumn 2017 [pdf 81KB] Click to download
File icon: doc EYFS MTP Spring 2018 [doc 48KB] Click to download
File icon: pdf EYFS MTP Summer 2018 [pdf 93KB] Click to download